Give Up Your Limiting Beliefs

(my take on the fifth part of 15 Things You Should Give Up to Be Happy)

I can’t remember a time in early childhood when anybody told me that I could never be the person I wanted to be.  I grew up on “Kennedy” optimism, a belief in the power of education, unlimited horizons and the meaning of sacrifice for others.  My childhood hero was Albert Schweitzer.  But somewhere along the line I added 2+2 and came up with some limitations.

No matter who said it, I’ve had to make some choices about limiting beliefs.  Times have changed.  I’ve broken out of my gender shell.  I’m a sober and sane woman.  I can see the possibility once more about having my own place in God’s purpose. I can recognize my experience and skill set for what it is, a toolbox I can pick up and take down any number of paths.

This is progress, not perfection, but when I don’t nurture limiting beliefs anymore about who I am and what I can do, I can be happy.  And I’m not unique.  I believe this is true of all people regardless of gender, age, ethnicity, anything you can name.

Leave a Reply

