Give Up on Blame

(my take on the third part of 15 Things You Should Give Up to Be Happy)

Could it be that the best developed human talent is the ability to find scapegoats?  It’s not just me; human history is chock full of possibilities of placing the blame for business failure, battle defeats and self-destructive behavior.  I had to wade through a lot of bramble thickets to finally conclude that I alone am responsible for where I am.

I’m not to blame for my gender identity.  Nobody did that to me and I didn’t make that choice.  But I am truly responsible for what I do with it.  Yes, discrimination is a reality, but if I give up and start blaming others for my failure to be working and don’t speak up for myself in a mature and responsible way, then I have truly failed.

My alcoholic mind cunningly tells me that somebody, some thing is to blame.  But after the last 18 months, I don’t take orders or suggestions even from my alcoholic mind.  My alcoholic mind can shut up and sit down.  Blame and shame is a losing game (hey, that rhymes…).

I am a powerful and independent woman who can look with confidence in the mirror and say “Whatever comes my way, it’s mine, my choice!”

 

Leave a Reply

