Bad Stuff is a Fact

Since I have begun transitioning, I have a better appreciation (I’m not saying I’m there yet) for whatever almost every woman seems to feel at times – the need to stay safe.  For the first time I pay attention to my surroundings.  Am I around other people?  Can I be seen?  Is the parking lot lit?

Despite the hysterical over-the-top prejudice about the “great bathroom debate” (your wives, mothers and daughters are at great risk of assault if male-to-female trans people are allowed to use female gender-specific facilities), a prejudice statistically unfounded, transgender people are far more at risk of violent death than the general population, possibly one in six.

I was out last evening standing on a sidewalk with friends after coffee.  People were walking everywhere on National Night Out.  Meanwhile in Washington, DC, police were warning the transgender community that somebody seemed to be targeting them.

Bad stuff is a fact.  And it’s happening not just in Malaysia or Latin America.  It’s happening right here, here in the Twin Cities.  Assaults by transgender people in public restrooms are NOT a fact.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Roxie
    Aug 04, 2011 @ 17:15:46

    Stay Safe!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

