Transgender Virtual Reality? You can do that??

I struggle trying to describe what it feels like to be who I am.  Somehow saying I’m a woman mistakenly in a man’s body or telling somebody my penis really shouldn’t be there doesn’t cut it.  That’s a lot of talking and not much feeling.

I’ve wished I could take people, not just the bigoted fools who can only think of nasty things to say but the people who genuinely want to understand what this feels like, and give them the experience.  You can’t just put somebody in opposite gender clothes and say “This is what it’s all about, glad we settled that!”

Maybe virtual reality holds the key, something along the lines of these Spanish researchers.  I can think of other advantages; maybe if some transgender folks could experience all this more directly, decisions about the future would be clearer.  On the other hand, if I got into that kind of virtual reality, you might have a hard time getting me to turn it off.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Roxie
    May 18, 2010 @ 23:22:46

    Wow! I can think of all kinds of possibilities with virtual reality therapy i.e. changing the thought processes of the criminal mind, empathy building etc. Be interesting to see what the future holds. I hope your journey becomes easier as time goes on.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

