What I Want People To Ask Me About Being Transgendered

I want people to ask me the kinds of questions that are kind of prying, the kind fueled by burning curiosity they are too embarrassed to ask.  I’d rather they came right out and asked me if I still “like” women or if I am gay or if I’m going for the “big operation”.  Asking the question doesn’t mean I have to answer it, but at least it isn’t just sitting there nagging at them.

I want people to ask me if I’m ok, because some days I’m not (which may or may not have anything to do with being transgendered).

I want people to ask me what other people think, how much turmoil this causes.  If people aren’t sure themselves what to think or they just flat out don’t like it, I want them to know they aren’t alone and that we can talk about all that.

I want people to ask me about changes.  I want them to know that some things do change (oh, boy, do they change).  And some things do not.  I didn’t die, you know.

Will I get it?  I don’t know, but that’s what I want.

Leave a Reply

